Share

Beer Ladies Podcast

The best in beer history, style guides, brewing and beer culture.

After a few too many, a group of beer-loving friends decided to start a podcast. With various interests and expertise in the group, you'll find plenty of interesting conversations. Anything from beer history and style gu
1/27/2023

Wild Ales - Style Series

Season 3, Ep. 18
We’re back in the Style Guide territory with Wild Ales. Learn your Brett from your Pedio, why funky beers take time and which ones really should have that “horse blanket” flavour. Lisa, Thandi, Katie and Christina go through their varied opinions on wild beers while doing a 101 on what this family of beers involves. What we’re drinking:To Øl - Blueprints of the Sun Blend #1 - https://untappd.com/b/to-ol-blueprints-of-the-sun-blend-1/4662762Straffe Hendrik Wild - De Halve Maan - https://untappd.com/b/brouwerij-de-halve-maan-straffe-hendrik-brugs-tripel-bier-wild-2022/4810228To Øl - There Gose The Seawater Pipe - https://untappd.com/b/to-ol-cph-there-gose-the-seawater-pipe/3669167Links: Milk the Funk Wiki - http://www.milkthefunk.com/wiki/Main_PageMixed Fermentation - http://www.milkthefunk.com/wiki/Mixed_FermentationGuide to Spontaneous Fermentation - https://www.hopculture.com/hop-cultures-guide-to-spontaneous-fermentation/Wild v. Clean Beer -  https://brewvana.com/blog/wild-vs-clean-beers/What are Wild Ales? - https://www.chatelaine.com/food/drinks/wild-ales-faq-beer/Sour Beer Spectrum - https://beerandbrewing.com/the-sour-beer-spectrum/Complex Fermentations Made Simpler - Mixing It Up: Complex Fermentations, Made SimplerBeer History and Yeast - https://www.seriouseats.com/beer-history-discovery-of-yeastWas all beer sour? - https://www.garshol.priv.no/blog/306.htmlBeer's missing link - https://www.ucd.ie/newsandopinion/news/2022/december/07/beersmissinglinkrevealedasucdresearchersfindancientyeastusedtobrewworldsfirstlagersonuniversitycampus/Beer Ladies Links: linktr.ee/beerladies#beerladiespodcast #womeninbeer #wildbeer
12/2/2022

Apiwe Nxusani-Mawela - People in Beer

Season 3, Ep. 14
This week we’re speaking to Apiwe Nxusani-Mawela - the first black woman in South Africa to own a brewery, and with a CV that would make almost any brewer look like an amateur. She’s had a very interesting journey into and through the beer world, with loads of ups and downs - today we talk about her brand Tolokazi, her NPO Brew4Change as well as her personal adventures all over the world judging and talking about beer. Links:Tolokazi website: https://tolokazibeer.co.za/Apiwe - Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tolokazi_thebrewster/Tolokazi - Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tolokazibeer/Brew4Change - Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/brew4change.africa/Various articles on Apiwe: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apiwe_Nxusani-Mawelahttps://beersa.org/apiwe-nxusani-mawela/https://www.iol.co.za/business-report/entrepreneurs/apiwe-nxusani-mawela-home-brewed-excellence-5c4ddb6e-3685-4697-aa43-e7ae5dfa8d20https://www.foodformzansi.co.za/apiwe-nxusani-mawela-female-brewster-calls-it-quits/https://www.businessinsider.co.za/booze-bans-shut-down-sas-first-black-woman-brewer-now-her-beer-is-being-made-in-europe-2022-1What we’re drinking:Tolokazi Rooibos & Berry Cider - https://untappd.com/b/tolokazi-rooivos-and-berry-cider/3911736Permon Hazy Citra - https://untappd.com/b/pivovar-permon-hazy-citra/37255183 Fonteinen Oude Geuze - https://untappd.com/b/brouwerij-3-fonteinen-3-fonteinen-oude-geuze/4009Beer Ladies Links: linktr.ee/beerladies#beerladiespodcast #womeninbeer #southafricanbeer