Share

cover art for ZODIAC KILLER UPDATE #5 - MICHAEL BUTTERFIELD

House of Mystery Radio on NBC

ZODIAC KILLER UPDATE #5 - MICHAEL BUTTERFIELD

is it now possible to discover the Zodiac Killer's Identity from the DNA surrounding the crimes? now that they have found the EAR from DNA!

More episodes

View all episodes

  • JT Patten - BROTHERS OF BLOOD: A New Orleans Vampyre Novella

    43:30
    As the sun sets over New Orleans, two brothers, John and Wayne Carter, find themselves standing in a French Quarter alleyway, their clothes stained with blood, and their minds foggy. They have no memory of how they got there or what they have done. All they can recall is a new friend, Jacques St. Germain offered them a deal - work for him, and he will give them a home, purpose, and power.While the brothers sink deeper into compelled crimes, they are plagued by nightmares and memories they can't explain. Through a romantic interest of John, the Carters seek the help of her aunt, a voodoo queen, who recognizes their plight and a danger to her own family. With guidance, they unlock memories of their past and learn about the dark deeds they were forced to participate in.The brothers race against time to break Jacques' hold before they are turned and forced to serve him for eternity. But the old vampire is not so easily defeated, and the brothers find themselves in a final showdown with Jacques.Enter the origin story legend and the hidden world of the Big Easy where paths intertwine with serial killers, witchcraft, and a bloodline of the dead that existed well before Prohibition in the Crescent City.Laissez les bons temps rouler.
  • Sheri Lewis Wohl - Buried Secrets

    40:41
    Tuesday Johnson spent her career helping the Spokane, WA, community as a probation officer and a search and rescue K9 handler. After suffering a career-ending gunshot wound, all she wants is to heal and spend quiet time with her mother during her last days of battling cancer. Instead, visions of murder disrupt her hopes for peace, and family secrets shake up everything she thought she knew.After twenty-five years of searching, private Detective Addie Caine has all but given up hope of finding her brother alive. When the last known sighting brings her to Spokane and a routine search uncovers a decades-old burial ground, the hunt for her brother means pursuing a serial killer. Tuesday and Addie, along with Tuesday’s dog, Tripper, struggle to solve a twenty-five-year-old mystery while searching for love and redemption along the way.
  • Danny Cherry Jr. - Pike Boys

    36:22
    It’s 1920 New Orleans and Jesse Pike is slowly ascending the New Orleans upper-class social scene. He’s the owner of the most popular brothel in the entire city, and rubs shoulders with businessmen, corrupt politicians, and stage stars alike. He’s also the leader of a violent street gang that pulls off the biggest heist of liquor since the beginning of prohibition. Jesse sets up a scheme to sell the booze, and use the profits to help him start a legitimate business. However, several obstacles get in his way: Clyde, the mentally disturbed oldest Pike sibling, is released from prison and takes issue with how Jesse runs things; Jesse's aging mentor refuses to let him leave behind crime; and an overzealous young DA decides to reopen an investigation into the liquor heist to increase his chances of being elected mayor. Jesse is forced to make a decision: does he walk away from a life of crime and his family forever? Or will he continue down the road of violence that has begun to erode his psyche, much as it has Clyde's?The Pike Boys, according to a reviewer, is a "compelling story of the Pike family's struggles against poverty, violence, substance abuse, mental illness, and their quest to rise above it all while living in the crime-ridden New Orleans of the gangster era." It has all the thrills, plot twists, and quick pace of conventional gangster fiction, with the heart, depth, and nuance of a literary novel. In between the shootouts, violence, and debauchery, there is the overarching question of "can people actually change?" The reader will see that the answer is not so simple—especially when you live in a place like New Orleans.(Good for fans of Mario Puzo and Dennis Lehane; and lovers of Sopranos, Godfather, and Peaky Blinders!)
  • John Ferriso - All in a day's work: An officer's accounts 20 years NYPD

    40:24
    When you are a New York City police officer you become a social worker, chauffeur, human relations consultant, and tour guide. You are expected to do all those tasks while stopping crime as it occurs, preventing crime, and keeping the peace in a city that never takes a break. Let’s not forget you get to do all this within a workday, or tour as we called it. These separate tasks come to you at random times, so going to work is like a roll of the dice. One moment you are driving with your partner talking about nonsense and five minutes later you are coming face to face with dangerous people who just committed a criminal act. The weight of these tasks can become overwhelming and mentally drain you if you allow it to happen. Many times, you do not have time to reflect on the day’s events, you just move on to the next crisis. Within days, or a month, NYPD cops will get involved with and witness more toxic events than an average person will see in a lifetime. Active cops will need to navigate around and work with their coworkers, supervisors, the public, and criminals. What people believe cops are doing daily regarding police work is often far from the truth.You will find within my short stories what is really occurring inside those moving police vehicles. What the city was like in the days after September 11, 2001. Take a close in-depth look at the investigating that occurs within the NYPD detective squad room. Within the squad room the pen can influence like a hammer, and a phone call can arrive like a hurricane. If you want the gritty, alarming, and at times comical truth behind police work, you have arrived at your destination.
  • D. Marshall Craig MD.- Sleight of Hand

    25:28
    The thriller series continues with busy trauma surgeon, Dr. Kyle Chandler, pursuing is side hobby of private investigation. A wealthy client has requested Kyle to attempt to track down two historical items related to a supposed family curse. Despite his initial hesitancy about the investigation, Kyle sets off to France to take on the case. On his journey on to Paris, and then on to Boston, multiple interested parties threaten Kyle, as they desperately want these two items. With the help of his girlfriend, Caroline Martinelli, the growing danger of the situation puts the couple at risk as they inch closer to finding the two lost items. Chance occurrences become the clues to uncover the truth -- and the truth nearly costs them their lives.
  • Matthew Richer - Kurt Cobain Update: Tom Grant

    42:42
    Matthew Richer, coauthor of the book ' Kurt Cobain Murder or Suicide, You Decide' Talked updates and about all of the untruths of his coauthor Tom Grant
  • Barry W. Levy - The War Machine

    38:39
    It’s 1988, and secrets that were buried in the jungles of Vietnam twenty years earlier are starting to re-emerge.David “Kick” Tacker is a Canadian-born—but American-made—stone-cold killer, and is barely holding his psyche together; shattered by years of war and violence. He fought in MACV-SOG’s secret war in Vietnam until there was no more war to be made, and then sustained himself with clandestine work around the world.Now living in Vancouver, Kick has one goal holding him together: to finally expose Canada’s covert involvement in the Vietnam War before those dark secrets are hidden forever.With the help a local reporter and his Agency handlers, Kick races to make the story public, all while being pursued by a mysterious assassin and their team.The War Machine takes us from the savage jungles of the Vietnam War to its explosive climax in the seedy back streets of Vancouver, where Kick will either get the story to print, or die in the battle to expose the truth.
  • Michael Hearns - Choices and Chances

    33:53
    In his debut novel, "Trust No One," Michael Hearns introduced readers to the captivating world of Vice Intelligence and Narcotics detective Cade Taylor. The subsequent books, "Grasping Smoke: A Cade Taylor Novel" and "One More Move: A Cade Taylor Novel," were widely acclaimed solidifying Cade Taylor as a remarkable action-driven character in the literary realm. Now, in "Choices and Chances: A Cade Taylor Novel,"South Florida undercover detective Cade Taylor makes a triumphant return in Hearns' latest addition to the series. Cade finds himself embroiled in a complex homicide case that thrusts him smack dead into the heart of the investigation. Reluctantly, he must collaborate with an old police academy classmate turned homicide investigator, all while evading the intrusive interference of a federal agent that jeopardizes his standing with both the police department and the Drug Enforcement Agency. As the case unfolds, Cade discovers a Caribbean connection that stretches from South Florida to Philadelphia, making it the most intricate case of his career. The danger is palpable, and every twist and turn tests Cade's mettle in dangerous heart-stopping moments keeping him and the reader on the edge of their seats. Staying true to the Dark Tropics literary genre he pioneered, Hearns immerses readers in the vibrant energy of South Florida, revealing that sunshine isn't always the best disinfectant. Sometimes, it's the scouring of cold steel brass shells and lead bullets that reveal the truth.
  • Margot Douaihy - Blessed Water: A Sister Holiday Mystery

    33:46
    Tattooed from her neck to her toesand sporting a gold tooth as sharp as her wisecracks, Sister Holiday struggles to stay on the righteous path. Never one to make things easy for herself, she’s committed to taking her permanent vows with the Sisters of the Sublime Blood and joining former fire inspector Magnolia Riveaux’s latest venture, Redemption Detective Agency—both in service of satisfying her eternal quest for answers.When Sister Holiday and Riveaux set out to bust a philandering husband, they instead find the body of a priest floating in the swollen Mississippi River, and with it, Redemption’s next case. It’s significantly more gruesome than their orig­inal mission, but Sister Holiday feels called on by God to hunt down the murderer and keep her community safe.As a torrential rainstorm drowns New Orleans for three harrowing days over Easter weekend, Sister Holiday and Riveaux follow the clues. With the stakes rising alongside the relentless floodwaters, our favorite punk nun-sleuth throws herself into the deep end yet again.A lacerating and lyrical plunge into obsession, deception, and the questions that hold us captive, Blessed Water is a lights-out mystery that will leave you breathless.

Comments