Share

cover art for Meredith Doench - Whereabouts Unknown

House of Mystery Radio on NBC

Meredith Doench - Whereabouts Unknown

Theodora Madsen has everything she’s ever hoped for: a distinguished career as a homicide detective with the Dayton Police Department, a woman she loves, and a baby on the way.


While Theo and Bree nest and plan for their family’s future, two sixteen-year-old Ohio girls vanish—one from Dayton and the other from Brecksville—each leaving behind a bloody handprint. Then a routine interview goes disastrously wrong, and Theo’s injured and facing a lengthy recovery.


With her professional future uncertain and the cases growing cold, Theo scrambles to piece together the links between the girls. But the clock is ticking and time is running out.

More episodes

View all episodes

  • Gordon Greisman - The Devil’s Daughter

    45:41
    From Emmy-nominated screenwriter Gordon Greisman, The Devil’s Daughter is a noir thriller full of the best—and worst—of New York City in the 1950s.Most nights PI Jack Coffey can be found hanging out in smoky Greenwich Village jazz clubs with well-known mobsters, jazzmen, and hoods. So, when an uptown financier calls him in for a job, it seems like he’s headed for tonier climes. But it turns out the view from Louis Garrett’s lavish penthouse overlooks the same vice-ridden Manhattan streets, which explains why he’s so desperate to find his missing teenage daughter, Lucy.When Jack’s search for Lucy leads him to swanky nightclubs packed with well-dressed pimps and wealthy drug dealers, he begins to wonder if Garrett is really concerned about his daughter’s welfare or if he simply fears she may reveal his own shocking secrets. After an attack outside Jack’s own apartment and Lucy’s boyfriend is found floating face down in the East River, the story kicks into high gear.But death threats, crooked cops, lies, or ugly truths can’t stop Jack from finishing the job—whether an angel or a devil, Lucy is still a kid in danger, and Jack will do whatever it takes to find her.
  • Noir at the Bar! Seattle Ep #3 & 4 John Copenhaver, Connie Berry, Rob Osler, James Hannah, Tracy Clark, Joe Clifford

    57:17
    This is a compilation of two episodes of Noir at the Bar! Seattle ! Hosts Alan R. Warren, John Copenhaver & Joe Goldberg!Tonight's readers are John Copenhaver reading from his 'Hall of Mirrors, Connie Berry from her ' A Collection of Lies, Tracy Clark reading from her novel 'Fall', Joe Clifford reading from his' Say My Name', James Hannah reading his short story 'They Shall Take Up Serpents', and Rob Osler reading his 'Cirque Du Slay'!
  • Bruce Borgos - The Bitter Past: A Mystery (Porter Beck Book 1)

    39:53
    In the tradition of Craig Johnson and C. J. Box, Bruce Borgos's The Bitter Past begins a compelling series set in the high desert of Nevada featuring Sheriff Porter Beck…Porter Beck is the sheriff in the high desert of Nevada, north of Las Vegas. Born and raised there, he left to join the Army, where he worked in Intelligence, deep in the shadows in far off places. Now he's back home, doing the same lawman's job his father once did, before his father started to develop dementia. All is relatively quiet in this corner of the world, until an old, retired FBI agent is found killed. He was brutally tortured before he was killed and clues at the scene point to a mystery dating back to the early days of the nuclear age. If that wasn't strange enough, a current FBI agent shows up to help Beck's investigation.In a case that unfolds in the past (the 1950s) and the present, it seems that a Russian spy infiltrated the nuclear testing site and now someone is looking for that long-ago, all-but forgotten person, who holds the key to what happened then and to the deadly goings on now.
  • Matthew Blake - Anna O: A Novel

    29:15
    What if your nightmares weren’t really nightmares at all?We spend an average of thirty-three years of our lives asleep. But what really happens, and what are we capable of, when we are sleeping?Anna Ogilvy was a budding twenty-five-year-old writer with a bright future. Then, one night, she stabbed two people to death with no apparent motive—and she hasn’t woken up since. Dubbed “Sleeping Beauty” by the tabloids, Anna suffers from a rare psychosomatic disorder known to neurologists as “resignation syndrome.”Dr. Benedict Prince is a forensic psychologist and an expert in the field of sleep-related homicides. His methods represent the last possible hope of solving the infamous “Anna O” case by waking Anna up so she can stand trial. But the doctor must be careful treating such a high-profile suspect—he’s got career secrets and a complicated personal life of his own.As Anna shows the first signs of stirring, Benedict knows he must determine what really happened and whether Anna should be held responsible for her crimes.Only Anna knows the truth about that night, but only Benedict knows how to discover it. And they’re both in danger from what they will discover.
  • Michael Benson - Filthy Murders : In the Era of Jack the Ripper

    47:38
    A tremendous history lesson and essential reading for everyone in the Rochester area. You'll recognize the locations and find interest in how those places looked 140 years ago. Book tells the story of five murders, all taking place in the City of Rochester, N.Y., during the latter decades of the nineteenth century. The first story, which takes up the first half of the book, is about the home invasion murder of a young wife and mother. Her body is found in the cellar, a flour sack tied tightly around her neck and her skirts hiked up. At first, of course, the husband was arrested, amid rumors that he and his wife, along with another couple, were swingers. But he was released in favor of a preferable suspect, a damaged young tramp who'd been floating around the Hayward Avenue neighborhood looking for food. In another story, the resort town of Charlotte (that's Cha'LOT to Rochesterians) where the rich went to play along the crystal clear waters of Lake Ontario. At night it was where the pick pockets and the thugs went to fleece drunks who still had money in their pockets. After our victim checks into a hotel for the night complaining he'd been mugged, he dies overnight from brain swelling. Who bonked him on the head. The answer seems to come the next day when a man is going around trying to sell the victim's watch. In another story, brother kills brother. Book spans the last years of the gallows in Monroe County, and the first of the new-fangled electric chair.
  • Charles Beaumont - A Spy Alone

    36:20
    Everyone knows about the Cambridge Spies from the Fifties, identified and broken up after passing national secrets to the Soviets for years. But no spy ring was ever unearthed at Oxford. Because one never existed? Or because it was never found…?2022: Former spy Simon Sharman is eking out a living in the private sector. When a commission to delve into the financial dealings of a mysterious Russian oligarch comes across his desk, he jumps at the chance.But as Simon investigates, worrying patterns begin to emerge. His subject made regular trips to Oxford, but for no apparent reason. There are payments from offshore accounts that suddenly just… stop.Has he found what none of his former colleagues believed possible, a Russian spy ring now nestled at the heart of the British Establishment? Or is he just another paranoid ex-spook left out in the cold, obsessed with redemption?From Oxford’s hallowed quadrangles to brush contacts on Hampstead Heath, agent-running in Vienna and mysterious meetings in Prague, A Spy Alone is a gripping international thriller and a searing portrait of modern Britain in the age of cynical populism. Perfect for readers of Charles Cumming, Mick Herron and John le Carré.
  • Noir at the Bar! Seattle Ep#1 & 2 Judy Penz, Iona Whishaw, Winona Kent, Carl Vonderau, Adam Sikes & Ed Aymar!

    58:15
    This is a compilation of the first two episodes of the Noir at the bar radio show heard on KKNW 1150 A.M. Seattle/Tacoma!Hosts Alan R. Warren, John Copenhaver & Joe Goldberg!Guests reading tonight are Judy Penz Sheluk reading from 'Skeletons in the Attic', Winona Kent reading from her 'Notes on a Missing G-String, Iona Whishaw reading from her 'To Track A Traitor', Carl Vonderau reading from his 'Saving Myles, Adam Sikes reading from his 'Landslide, and Ed Aymar reading his short story ' Your Purchase is Complete'!
  • Laury A. Egan - The Psychologist's Shadow

    36:42
    In October 1992, Dr. Ellen Haskell begins a new therapy practice in Princeton after a tragic error with a former client. Demoralized by her failure, Ellen strives to restore her emotional and professional confidence. Her parents have departed for Greece, leaving Ellen alone in their secluded country house. As her clients are introduced through their individual sessions, Ellen becomes unnerved when she receives hang-up phone calls and a series of bizarre gifts from an anonymous admirer—first at her office and then at home. As the obsessive lover increasingly invades her life, Ellen's anxiety crescendos and she begins to fear the stalker's behavior will escalate into violence.The Psychologist's Shadow is a simmering literary suspense and a portrait of a compassionate, introspective therapist who finds herself in a dangerous struggle. As tension accumulates, the reader gains insights during sessions and through the stalker's journal entries, which serve as discordant counterpoints. Who is the shadow lover? An acquaintance, a shopkeeper, an old boyfriend, or a client?
  • Lawrence Kelter - Man-Killer: Gina Cototi Cases, Book I

    38:18
    "Lawrence Kelter is an exciting new novelist, who reminds me of an early Robert Ludlum." –Nelson DeMille, New York Times bestselling authorGina Marie Cototi is a feisty Sicilian sparkplug, a Brooklyn-based PI with a fondness for family, friends, and one roguishly handsome Casanova named Rocco Benelli. Hey, nobody's perfect.This headstrong sleuth drives a split-window '63 Corvette coupe and never, I mean never, misses Sunday dinner with Ma, Dad, and her sister Theresa.Broke, brooding, and breathtaking, Benelli, an out-of-work parole officer is cursed with more charm than any man deserves. Deep down, Gina knows she shouldn't touch him with a ten-foot pole, but she's got more cases than she can handle, and Benelli's ready, willing, and able-bodied, the perfect partner to help her get the goods on Vlad "The Scud" Rzhevsky, a disreputable boxer running point on dirty deeds for Luca Mura, a mobster as evil as he is dangerous.Gina must somehow close the case without losing her life to Mura or her virtue to Benelli, but a moth working alongside a flame is always in danger of catching fire.For fans of Janet Evanovich. Think of Man-Killer as Stephanie Plum meets Moonstruck.

Comments