The Other Stories | Sci-Fi, Horror, Thriller, WTF Stories

Share

76.1 The Hand of Glory

The Hand Of Glory


'A solo mission to recover a missing fellow superhero from the Appalachian Mountains goes awry for newly-inducted heroine The Wren.'


Written by Georgia Cook (https://twitter.com/georgiacooked)

Narrated by Alexandra Elroy

Edited by Karl Hughes (https://twitter.com/karlhughes)

With music by Kai Engel (https://www.kai-engel.com/)

And Thom Robson (https://www.thomrobsonmusic.com/)

The episode illustration was provided by Luke Spooner of Carrion House (https://carrionhouse.com/)

A quick thanks to our community managers, Joshua Boucher and Jasmine Arch

And Carolyn O'Brien for helping with our submission reading.

And to Ben Errington for his content loop-de-loops and double helixs’s he takes us on on his Social Media Rollercoaster. Scream if you want to go faster! AAAGGGHHH!


Georgia Cook is an illustrator and writer from London. She can be found on twitter at @georgiacooked and on her website at https://www.georgiacookwriter.com/


Alexandra is a bilingual voice actress and writer who lives in the Netherlands. She loves everything to do with stories, especially creative and playful horror. Her favourite voices to do are witches, goblins and crazy computers.


You can help support the show over at Patreon.com/HawkandCleaver

You can join our Bookclub, Movieclub, and writing exercises over at Facebook.com/groups/hawkandcleaver

T-shirts, mugs, posters, and comic books are available at www.gumroad.com/hawkandcleaver

Get help with your short stories and your podcasts by heading to TheOtherStories.Net/services


The Other Stories is a production of the story studio, Hawk & Cleaver, and is brought to you with a Creative Commons – Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives license. Don’t change it. Don’t sell it. But by all means… share the hell out of it.

More Episodes

6/12/2022

77.3 The Devil Did It: A Miss Terri Mystery

Today’s episode has been sponsored by Luke Kondor and his new absurd comedy novel, My Dog Shits Cash. He’s running a small crowdfunding campaign to produce a limited hardcover edition along with the audio adaptation.https://www.LukeKondor.com/CashThe Devil Did It: A Miss Terri MysteryCan renowned sleuth, Miss Terri, solve a murder that appears to have been committed by The Devil himself?Written by Richard Reynolds (groundzerocomics.co.uk)Narrated by Georgia Cook (https://www.twitter.com/georgiacooked)Edited by Duncan Muggleton (http://soundcloud.com/duncanmuggleton)With music by Duncan Muggleton (http://soundcloud.com/duncanmuggleton)And Thom Robson (https://www.thomrobsonmusic.com/)The episode illustration was provided by Luke Spooner of Carrion House (https://carrionhouse.com/)And sound effects provided by Freesound.orgA quick thanks to our community managers, Joshua Boucher and Jasmine ArchAnd Carolyn O'Brien for helping with our submission reading.And to that heretic Ben Errington for painting the content space marines, dark eldar, and tau, and and expertly positioning them over on the social media display shelf. Down with the heretics.Richard Reynolds is the owner and operator of Ground Zero Comics, a small shop in Mansfield, England, but writes, draws and produces his own comics and strips whenever he gets the chance. You can read these comics for free on the shop’s website, groundzerocomics.co.uk - ‘free comics’ sidebar.Georgia Cook is an illustrator and writer from London. She is the winner of the LISP 2020 Flash Fiction Prize, and has been shortlisted for the Bridport Prize, Staunch Book Prize and Reflex Fiction Award, among others. She can be found on twitter at @georgiacooked and on her website at https://www.georgiacookwriter.com/You can help support the show over at Patreon.com/HawkandCleaverYou can join our Bookclub, Movieclub, and writing exercises over at Facebook.com/groups/hawkandcleaverT-shirts, mugs, posters, and comic books are available at www.gumroad.com/hawkandcleaverGet help with your short stories and your podcasts by heading to TheOtherStories.Net/servicesThe Other Stories is a production of the story studio, Hawk & Cleaver, and is brought to you with a Creative Commons – Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives license. Don’t change it. Don’t sell it. But by all means… share the hell out of it.
6/5/2022

77.2 Darling Johnny

Today’s episode has been sponsored by Luke Kondor and his new absurd comedy novel, My Dog Shits Cash.He’s running a small crowdfunding campaign to produce a limited hardcover edition along with the audio adaptation.https://www.LukeKondor.com/CashDarling Johnny'At the turn of the century, a doctor at a private facility finds himself treating a patient with a bizarre nightly delusion...'Written by Georgia Cook (https://twitter.com/georgiacooked)Narrated by Josh Curran (https://twitter.com/jcurranwriter)Edited by Karl Hughes (https://twitter.com/karlhughes)With music by Velleitie (https://velleitie.us/)And Thom Robson (https://www.thomrobsonmusic.com/)The episode illustration was provided by Luke Spooner of Carrion House (https://carrionhouse.com/)And sound effects provided by Freesound.orgA quick thanks to our community managers, Joshua Boucher and Jasmine ArchAnd Carolyn O'Brien for helping with our submission reading.And to Ben Errington for travelling back in time and saving Social Connors from the content-terminator, and ensuring humanity is saved… and also social media.Georgia Cook is an illustrator and writer from London. She can be found on twitter at @georgiacooked and on her website at https://www.georgiacookwriter.com/Josh Curran is a narrator and writer. He has narrated many episodes of The Other Stories over the show’s lifetime. He is also the creator of the horror Audio-Drama podcast, Miscreation. You can follow him on twitter, @jcurranwriterYou can help support the show over at Patreon.com/HawkandCleaverYou can join our Bookclub, Movieclub, and writing exercises over at Facebook.com/groups/hawkandcleaverT-shirts, mugs, posters, and comic books are available at www.gumroad.com/hawkandcleaverGet help with your short stories and your podcasts by heading to TheOtherStories.Net/servicesThe Other Stories is a production of the story studio, Hawk & Cleaver, and is brought to you with a Creative Commons – Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives license. Don’t change it. Don’t sell it. But by all means… share the hell out of it.
5/29/2022

77.1 Remade

Today’s episode has been sponsored by Luke Kondor and his new absurd comedy novel, My Dog Shits Cash.Sweet like a Pixar movie but riotous and absurd. For fans of The Mighty Boosh, Wes Anderson movies, Adventure Time, and a little bit of Bojack Horseman.For more, head over to https://www.LukeKondor.com/CashRemadeA man in late 1800s London is transformed into a vampire. Yet not all is as it seems in this new, terrifying world.Written by Paul M. Feeney (https://www.instagram.com/paulmfeeney50/)Narrated by Manny RealguyEdited by Duncan Muggleton (http://soundcloud.com/duncanmuggleton)With music by Duncan Muggleton (http://soundcloud.com/duncanmuggleton)And Thom Robson (https://www.thomrobsonmusic.com/)The episode illustration was provided by Luke Spooner of Carrion House (https://carrionhouse.com/)And sound effects provided by Freesound.orgA quick thanks to our community managers, Joshua Boucher and Jasmine ArchAnd Carolyn O'Brien for helping with our submission reading.And to Ben Errington for rambling all the way to the depths of Middle Earth, to throw in one tweet to rule them all, into the firey depths of Social Media Mordor.Paul M. Feeney was born in Scotland, has moved all around the UK, and currently lives in Aberdeen. An avid and passionate fiction reader – his first love being horror and all things dark – he started writing in 2011, was first published in 2014, and has a number of short stories in publication or forthcoming. He also has released two novellas so far – The Last Bus, Crowded Quarantine Publications, 2015, and Kids, Dark Minds Press, 2016. In 2020, his novelette, Cursed, was released by Demain Publishing, the second published story featuring his shape-shifting PI Garrison Wake. Under the name Paul Michaels, he writes the occasional review for horror website, This is Horror, as well as writing less genre-oriented stories. He is currently working on his first novel, as well as numerous other short stories and novellas. Find him at these various links: https://linktr.ee/PaulFny75Forged in the centre of a supernova 10,000 years from now, Manny rides the cosmic waves and feasts on dying planets shitting out stars.You can help support the show over at Patreon.com/HawkandCleaverCheck out our courses for creatives over at TheOtherStories.net/coursesYou can join our Bookclub, Movieclub, and writing exercises over at Facebook.com/groups/hawkandcleaverT-shirts, mugs, posters, and comic books are available at www.gumroad.com/hawkandcleaverGet help with your short stories and your podcasts by heading to TheOtherStories.Net/servicesThe Other Stories is a production of the story studio, Hawk & Cleaver, and is brought to you with a Creative Commons – Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives license. Don’t change it. Don’t sell it. But by all means… share the hell out of it.