Share

cover art for Show 340. Tim Loughton Returns. Again.

The Political Party

Show 340. Tim Loughton Returns. Again.

One of the most entertaining guests in the history of the show returns, to tell the incredible story of his deportation from Djibouti. 

 

Tim is one of five MPs to be sanctioned by China, but never expected that to have an effect in Africa,

 

He's standing down at the next election and gives his entertaining assessment of the issues facing the Conservatives, including his revoew of Liz Truss's book. 

 

This is a great story, well told. 

 

 

Buy Tickets to see Matt's return to stand-up: https://sohotheatre.com/events/matt-forde-work-in-progress/#performances

 

Follow @mattforde on Twitter for the latest news 

 

Follow @timloughton on Twitter

  

Email the show: politicalpartypodcast@gmail.com 

More episodes

View all episodes

  • Election 24 Special, Ep 16

    01:03:33
    The audio Panini album of this general election gets five more stickers, all of which we needed! Today's shinies are...Jess Phillips, Labour, Birmingham YardleyX: @jessphillipsW: https://jessphillips.net/ Will Sapwell, Lib Dem, Sheffield Brightside and HillsboroughX: @WillSapwellW: https://www.shefflibdems.org.uk/news/article/will-sapwell-selection Lilian Greenwood, Labour, Nottingham SouthX: @LilianGreenwoodW: https://www.liliangreenwood.co.uk/ Jenny Johnson, Conservative, Wirral WestX: @JennyJohnson4WWW: https://www.jennyjohnson.uk/ Richard Lloyd, Lib Dem, Boston and SkegnessX: @RichLLoyd Just 584 to go...If you are a candidate or know one who'd like to come on the show, email politicalpartypodcast@gmail.com
  • Election 24 Special, Ep 15

    01:10:55
    Fasten your seatbelt and cut out the carbs, we're on another scenic tour of the British political landscape. Today's candidates are:Nick Thomas-Symonds, Labour, TorfaenX: @NickTorfaen W: https://www.facebook.com/nickthomassymonds/Michael Shanks, Labour, RutherglenX: @mgshanks W: https://michaelshanks.org.uk/Charlotte Salomon, Conservative, Norwich NorthX: @SalomonSoup W: https://linktr.ee/NorwichCharlotteCalum Miller, Lib Dems, Bicester and WoodstockX: @CalumMillerLD W: https://www.facebook.com/CalumMillerLD/Sarah Sackman, Labour, Finchley and Golders GreenX: sarahsackman W: https://sarahsackman.com/Just 589 to go! If you are a candidate or know one who'd like to come on the show, email politicalpartypodcast@gmail.com
  • Election 24 Special, Ep 14

    01:09:55
    We're going back to the seaside  Today's candidates are... Anne-Marie Trevelyan, Conservatives, North NorthumberlandX: @annietrevW: https://www.teamtrevelyan.co.uk/ Frederick van Mierlo, Lib Dems, Henley and ThameX: @fivanmierloGeorgie Callé, Conservatives, Ealing SouthallX: @GeorgieCalleBen Bradley, Conservatives, MansfieldX: @BBradley_MansW: https://www.benbradley.uk/ Lucy Stephenson, Conservatives, Sheffield Central W: https://rutlandcounty.moderngov.co.uk/mgUserInfo.aspx?UID=138 Just 594 to go... If you are a candidate or know one who'd like to come on the show, email politicalpartypodcast@gmail.com SEE Matt at the Soho Theatre in June: Soho TheatreOr at the Edinburgh Festival in August: Matt Forde The End of an Era Tour
  • Election 24 Special, Ep 13

    58:27
    Election 24, Episode 13It's a bodyslam of an episode starting in the Welsh valleys.Today's candidates are...Alex Davies-Jones, Labour, PontypriddX: @AlexDaviesJonesW: https://alexdaviesjones.laboursites.org/Robert Buckland, Conservatives, Swindon SouthX: @RobertBucklandW: https://www.robertbuckland.co.uk/Helen Maguire, Lib Dems, Epsom and EwellX: @helenemaguireW: https://www.helenmaguire.org/Andrew Dinsmore, Conservatives, Hammersmith and ChiswickX: @AWNDinsmoreNikki da Costa, Consevratives, North East HertsW: https://www.nehertsconservatives.org.uk/people/nikki-da-costa-conservative-party-candidate-north-east-hertfordshireJust 599 to go...If you are a candidate or know one who'd like to come on the show, email politicalpartypodcast@gmail.comSEE Matt at the Soho Theatre in June: Soho TheatreOr at the Edinburgh Festival in August: Matt Forde The End of an Era Tour
  • Election 24 Special, Ep 12

    01:17:50
    Get ready to stuff your face with doughnuts, it's another fin summer's day on the Battlebus!   Today's candidates are...   Will Goodhand, Conservatives, West Bromwich X: @WillGoodhand4MP Jade Botterill, Labour, Ossett and Denby Dale X: @JadeBotterill W: https://www.jadebotterill.com/ Claire Hanna, SDLP, South Belfast and Mid Down X: @ClaireHanna W: https://www.sdlp.ie/clairehanna Theodore Jupp, Lib Dems, Camborne, Oxford East X: @TheoJupp W: https://www.oxonld.uk/parliamentary-candidates/oxford-east Polly Billington, Labour, East Thanet X: @PollyBLabour W: https://www.pollybillington.org.uk/  Just 604 to go...   If you are a candidate or know one who'd like to come on the show, email politicalpartypodcast@gmail.com   SEE Matt at the Soho Theatre in June: Soho Theatre Or at the Edinburgh Festival in August: Matt Forde The End of an Era Tour 
  • Election 24 Special, Ep 11

    01:12:31
    Pop your seatbelt on and get ready for another grand tour of Election 24. Our first stop is the seaside... Josh Babarinde, Liberal Democrats, Eastbourne X: @JoshBabarinde W: https://www.josh.org.uk/ Rushanara Ali, Labour, Bethnal Green and Stepney X: @rushanaraali W: https://www.rushanaraali.org/ Scott Smith, Conservatives, Manchester Central X: @scottdismith W: https://www.manchesterconservatives.com/ Thalia Marrington, Lib Dems, Camborne, Redruth and Hayle X: @thaliasimone1 W: https://www.crhlibdems.org.uk/thalia-marrington Kelly Dougall, Party of Women, Tynemouth X: @powtynemouth W: https://www.givesendgo.com/Partyofwomennortheast Just 609 to go... If you are a candidate or know one who'd like to come on the show, email politicalpartypodcast@gmail.com SEE Matt at the Soho Theatre in June: Soho TheatreOr at the Edinburgh Festival in August: Matt Forde The End of an Era Tour
  • Election 24 Special, Ep 10

    01:11:29
    Beep beep! The Political Party battlebus stops off to meet five more political talents. Enjoy today's episode with a glass of rioja and a wooden spoon covered in elastic bands. It'll all make sense.Today's candidates are:Ed Davey, Liberal Democrats, Kingston and SurbitonX: @EdwardJDaveyW: https://www.kingstonlibdems.org.uk/ge2024-eddavey/Rosie Duffield, Labour, CanterburyX: RosieDuffield1W: https://www.rosieduffieldmp.co.uk/James Cracknell, Conservatives,ColchesterX: @jamescracknellW: https://www.cracknell4colchester.com/Tonia Antoniazzi, Labour, GowerX: @ToniaAntoniazziW: https://www.toniaantoniazzi.co.uk/Ellen Nicholson, Liberal Democrats, Runnymede and WeybridgeX: @EllzSummaryW: https://www.runnymedelibdems.org.uk/ellen4mpIf you are a candidate or know one who'd like to come on the show, email politicalpartypodcast@gmail.comSEE Matt at the Soho Theatre in June Soho TheatreOr at the Edinburgh Festival in August: Matt Forde The End of an Era Tour
  • Election 24 Special, Ep 9

    01:30:25
    Pop your seatbelt on, the Political Party Battlebus is making FIVE stops today.  Politicians aren't all the same and this episode proves it.  This is a great advert for the power of politics.  Today's candidates are... Alison McGovern, Labour, BirkenheadX: @Alison_McGovernMichelle Welsh, Labour, Sherwood ForestX: MichelleWelshUK Khalil Yousuf, Liberal Democrats, Farnham and BordonX: @KhalilYousufW: https://khalilyousuf.info/ Claire Hazelgrove, Labour, Filton and Bradley StokeX: @CHazelgroveW: https://clairehazelgrove.co.uk/ Danielle Dunfield-Prayero, Conservative, WimbledonX: @DunfieldPrayeroW: https://www.danielle4wimbledon.london/ Just 619 to go... If you are a candidate or know one who'd like to come on the show, email politicalpartypodcast@gmail.com SEE Matt at the Soho Theatre in June: https://sohotheatre.com/events/matt-forde-work-in-progress/#performancesOr at the Edinburgh Festival in August: https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/matt-forde-the-end-of-an-era-tour
  • Election 24 Special, Ep 8

    01:05:24
    This is an absolute joy of an episode in so many ways.  Our four candidates today are listed below and they all bring their unique life experience to this election. Wes Streeting, Labour, Ilford NorthX: @wesstreetingW: https://linktr.ee/wesstreeting Sarah Cooper-Lesadd, Conservative, Coventry NorthW: https://www.coventryconservatives.com/news/coventry-north-east-has-selected-sarah-cooper-lesadd Claire Malcomson, Liberal Democrats, East SurreyX: @clairemalcomsonW: https://www.facebook.com/CMLibDem/ Vicki Smith, Labour, Wyre ForestX: @cdundasW: https://www.wyreforestlabour.co.uk/ Just 624 to go... If you are a candidate or know one who'd like to come on the show, email politicalpartypodcast@gmail.com SEE Matt at the Soho Theatre in June: https://sohotheatre.com/events/matt-forde-work-in-progress/#performances