Share

cover art for The Sofanauts Special

StarShipSofa

The Sofanauts Special

Join The Sofanuts each week;


Just search in your favourite podcast app for us! Or click links below.

Apple Podcasts

Spotify Podcasts


Cut and paste this to your podcast player of choice. RSS https://feeds.acast.com/public/shows/65fa92b91c46ed0017ea13a2.


https://www.patreon.com/Sofanauts

More episodes

View all episodes

  • StarShipSofa No 735 Carrie Vaughn

    46:13
    Main fiction: "The Bravest of Us Touched the Sky" by Carrie VaughnCarrie Vaughn's work includes the Philip K. Dick Award winning novel Bannerless, the New York Times best-selling Kitty Norville urban fantasy series, over twenty novels and upwards of 100 short stories, two of which have been finalists for the Hugo Award. Her next novel, The Naturalist Society, is about 19th century ornithologists, awkward love triangles, and the magic of binomial nomenclature. An Air Force brat, she survived her nomadic childhood and managed to put down roots in Boulder, Colorado.This story originally appeared in Talebones no. 29 (Winter 2004).Narrated by: Wanda CieloWanda Cielo lives in Bisbee, Arizona, where she spends her days slinging coffee and her nights wandering the streets and alleyways in search of the town's many ghosts and wayward spirits. This is her podcast debut and she is grateful to the author as well as the editor, and the host of StarShipSofa for this opportunity.
  • StarShipSofa No 734 Molly Tanzer

    51:57
    Sofanauts: Apple Podcasts: https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/sofanauts/id1740911381Spotify Podcasts: https://open.spotify.com/show/0OK9R9yAKasMqcjcJ0BSat Patreon for AD Free and Extra Content: https://www.patreon.com/SofanautsMain fiction: Le Cigne Baiseur by Molly Tanzer Molly Tanzeris the award-winning author of five novels, two novellas, and many works of short fiction. Her official Jirel of Joiry revival, “Jirel and the Mirror of Truth,” will appear in New Edge Sword & Sorcery Magazine in the summer of ’24. Follow her on Instagram @molly_tanzer, on BlueSky @mollytanzer.bsky.social, or on Twitter @wickedmilkhotel. She lives outside of Boulder, CO with her many houseplants. Narrated by: Will Stagl.Will Stagl lives in Tucson Arizona where he works as a creative professional by day and as a songwriter and musician with his band mate Stacey by night. Together they are the Liquid Centers. At the moment he’s probably reading or re-reading Leviathan Falls by Jame SA Corey and mourning the end of a great sci fi seriesFact: Looking Back At Genre History by Amy H Sturgis
  • StarShipSofa 733 Gregory Feeley

    45:19
    Listen to Sofanauts:Apple: https://feeds.acast.com/public/shows/65fa92b91c46ed0017ea13a2Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/0OK9R9yAKasMqcjcJ0BSatPaste our RSS into the search of your favourite podcast app:https://feeds.acast.com/public/shows/65fa92b91c46ed0017ea13a2Main fiction: "Hanging Gardens" by Gregory FeeleyGregory Feeley’s forthcoming novel is Hamlet the Magician. His SF novel Neptune’s Reach recently completed its piecemeal appearance in various magazines and anthologies. He is now working on a new novel.This story first appeared in Mission Critical, (2019) Jonathan Strahan, ed.Narrated by Dan RabartsDan Rabarts is an award-winning author and editor, living in Aotearoa New Zealand, four-time recipient of New Zealand’s Sir Julius Vogel Award and three-time winner of the Australian Shadows Award. Dan’s science fiction, dark fantasy and horror short stories have been published in numerous venues worldwide. Together with Lee Murray, he co-wrote the Path of Ra crime-noir thriller series (Hounds of the Underworld, Teeth of the Wolf, Blood of the Sun) and co-edited the anthologies Baby Teeth – Bite-sized Tales of Terror and At The Edge. He has narrated fiction for the StarShipSofa, Tales to Terrify, Pseudopod and Beneath Ceaseless Skies podcasts, among others, and he produced and co-narrated the audiobook for the first Path of Ra novel.“Jeremy Szal has a new book out! BLINDSPACE is the 2nd book in the Common trilogy, a dark space opera about the DNA of an extinct alien race that is used as a drug, making users permanently addicted to adrenaline and aggression. STORMBLOOD, the first book is already out and WOLFSKIN, the third and final book, comes out next year. The books will appeal to fans of Red Rising, Mass Effect, and Altered Carbon. They are available in all formats, including audiobook, and Jeremy would love it if you picked up a copy.Jeremy also has a store on his website where you can order signed and personalized books, directly from him!https://www.amazon.com/Audible-Blindspace/dp/B095KTFVZH https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0891TKN1H https://jeremyszal.com/shop/
  • StarShipSofa 732 Chris Balliet

    51:11
    Just search in your favourite podcast app for us!Apple Podcasts: https://feeds.acast.com/public/shows/65fa92b91c46ed0017ea13a2Spotify Podcasts: https://open.spotify.com/show/0OK9R9yAKasMqcjcJ0BSatMain fiction: "Oasis on the Edge of Trappist" by Chris BallietChris Balliet is a speculative fiction writer who lives in Philadelphia with his wife and daughter, traversing the city in search of playgrounds and good coffee. He is a graduate of Taos Toolbox in 2023 and has degrees in history and finance that inspire his work. You can find him on Threads/Instagram @chrisballietwrites, Twitter @chrisballiet or his website chrisballiet.com.This story is original to StarShipSofa.Narrated by: Mark NelsonMark Nelson began audiobook narration in 2006, and now has over 180 titles at LibriVox, and recording as “Harry Shaw,” more than 100 for Audible. While Mark mainly records sci-fi, fantasy, and horror titles, he has also ventured into the classics, including Hugo and Dostoyevsky.
  • StarShipSofa 731 Edward M. Lerner

    01:21:46
    Listen to the new Sofanauts:Just search in your favourite podcast app for us!Apple PodcastsSpotify PodcastsMain fiction: "Nothing to Lose" by Edward M. LernerEdward M. Lerner is the author of eighteen SF novels and many shorter works. The final novel in his InterstellarNet trilogy won the inaugural Canopus Award “honoring excellence in interstellar writing,” while other stories have been nominated for Locus, Prometheus, and Hugo awards. His latest book (2023) is the novel Life and Death on Mars.This story first appeared in Galaxy's Edge, May 2017Narrated by: Will StaglWill Stagl is proud to be a member of the StarShipSofa team, recruiting narrators for the podcast’s stellar stories. Will works as a creative professional and occasional musician from his adopted home of Tucson, Arizona.
  • StarShipSofa 730 Paul Jessup

    57:55
    Main fiction: "The Glorious Tunnels of our Gravitydragons" by Paul JessupPaul Jessup is a best selling video game designer, and award winning writer. He has several books out in the small press, with the latest ones being Glass House, Skinless Man Counts to Five, and Cancer Eats the Heart. With over 25 years of professional short story publications, he's had stories in Apex Magazine, Clarkesworld, Interzone, Nightmare, and countless others.This story is original to StarShipSofa.Narrated by: Rikki, Isis, and River LaCosteRikki LaCoste is a long time narrator and voice actor who has read for short audio fiction publications under District of Wonders, and Escape Artists, Inc., including otherrs, often working alongside his daughter, Isis. This story features powerful, telepathic twin sisters as the protagonists. So, naturally, Rikki asked his daughter Isis to help him out, again, and also recruited his OTHER daughter RIVER, who happens to be a young, aspiring stage and film actor. Special note: as far as we know, so far, these real-life sisters are neither telepathic, nor are they able to destroy a gigantic grizzly-bear bio-droid using tech-magick—since the opportunity has not yet presented itself.Fact: Looking Back At Genre History by Amy H Sturgis
  • StarShipSofa 729 Eric Del Carlo

    53:19
    Main fiction: "Stone by Stone" by Eric Del CarloEric Del Carlo's fiction has appeared in Asimov's, Strange Horizons, and other venues. "Stone by Stone" is set in his recurring Redmarch universe. Other stories transpiring in this continuum have appeared in Analog and Clarkesworld. He lives in his native California.This story is original to StarShipSofa.Narrated by: Mark NelsonMark Nelson began audiobook narration in 2006, and now has over 180 titles at LibriVox, and recording as “Harry Shaw,” more than 100 for Audible. While Mark mainly records sci-fi, fantasy, and horror titles, he has also ventured into the classics, including Hugo and Dostoyevsky.
  • StarShipSofa 728 Neil Willcox

    46:30
    Main fiction: "Conscript Sally" by Neil WillcoxNeil Willcox lives in south east England where he has (briefly) studied space science, picked fruit, tutored, and analysed data for insurance. He has most recently been published in voidspace, Hexagon, and Swords And Sorcery Magazine, and has a poem forthcoming from Corvid Queen. He can be found on Bluesky @neilwillcox.bsky.social and on his blog, nightofthehats.blogspot.comThis story is original to StarShipSofa.Narrated by: Will StaglWill Stagl is proud to be a member of the StarShipSofa team, recruiting narrators for the podcast’s stellar stories. Will works as a creative professional and occasional musician from his adopted home of Tucson, Arizona.Fact: Looking Back At Genre History by Amy H Sturgis