Big Blend Radio: Rants, Raves & Rock 'n Roll

Rock Music, Political & Social Issues

Latest episode

  • Chris P. James - The Burrito Brothers

    Ever since two Byrds left the “Sweetheart of the Rodeo” mothership over 50 years ago, The Burrito Brothers have been evolving and putting out wonderful albums. This episode of Big Blend Radio features Chris P. James, lead vocalist and keyboardist, who talks about the legendary history of The Burrito Brothers (aka The Flying Burrito Brothers), and their latest album, "Together." The musicians in today’s Burrito Brothers group, who have been together since 2009, include Chris P. James (keys/lead vocals), Tony Paoletta (pedal steel), Peter Young (drums) and Steve Allen (guitar). They have performed and recorded numerous notable previous works of their own and with countless other artists. More at 

More episodes

View all episodes

  • Lost Angel: The Genius of Judee Sill

    This episode of Big Blend Radio features filmmakers Brian Lindstrom and Andy Brown who discuss their new documentary "Lost Angel: The Genius of Judee Sill." The film provides an intimate look at one-of-a-kind singer-songwriter from 1970s Los Angeles, Judee Sill. It charts her life from a troubled adolescence of addiction, armed robbery and prison through her meteoric rise in the music world and early tragic death. Featuring Linda Ronstadt, Jackson Browne, David Crosby, Graham Nash, Fleet Foxes, David Geffen, JD Souther, Big Thief, Weyes Blood, Tim Page and more. Executive Producers include Maya Hawke and Cheryl Strayed. "Lost Angel: The Genius of Judee Sill" will be released theatrically in New York (IFC Center), Los Angeles (Laemmle Noho), Portland (Cinema 21) and key cities on April 12, 2024 with a VOD release on all major platforms in the US and Canada. Images and trailer featured on the podcast are courtesy of Greenwich Entertainment.
  • Brian Tarquin - Beyond the Warrior's Eyes Album

    Featuring Emmy and multiple award-winning guitarist Brian Tarquin, this episode of Big Blend Radio's BIG DAILY BLEND Podcast celebrates National Guitar Day (Feb. 11) and the release of his latest "Brian Tarquin & Heavy Friends" collaborative album "Beyond the Warrior's Eyes." The follow up to "Brothers in Arms," this album also features legendary jazz violinist Jean Luc Ponty, and guitar legends Eric Johnson, Robben Ford (Miles Davis), Steve Morse (Deep Purple), Dean Brown (David Sanborn), Hal Lindes (Dire Straits), Chris Poland (Megadeth), John Tropea (Billy Cobham), Steve Kindler (Jeff Beck), Carl Verheyen (Supertramp) & Larry McCray (John Mayall) and the Budapest Symphony Orchestra, and, studio drummer Reggie Pryor.“Beyond The Warrior’s Eyes” mission is to support and raise awareness for the charity, Hope For The Warriors, who provide medical care, mental health counseling, professional training and education, physical conditioning and transition services for wounded, ill, and injured Marines and Navy members. More: If you'd like to support the effort, visit the Special Donation Page: MORE ABOUT BRIAN TARQUIN: * Visit his site: * Check out his Guitarist Success Insider Q&A and "Brothers in Arms" interview in our Big Weekly Blend Magazine: SPECIAL THANKS to Steve & Karen Wilson, innkeepers and owners of The Lion & The Rose Bed & Breakfast in Asheville. Visit: 
  • Big Daily Blend - The Day the Music Died

    This episode of Big Blend Radio's BIG DAILY BLEND podcast remembers popular rock 'n roll musicians Buddy Holly, Ritchie Valens, and "The Big Bopper" J. P. Richardson, along with pilot Roger Peterson, who were all killed in a plane crash near Clear Lake, Iowa on February 3, 1959. We revisit an interview with Lindsay James, Executive Director of Visit Mason City in Iowa, a destination near the memorial at the crash site, and Surf Ballroom where the musicians played their last concert. More:  Mason City is also a destination on the historic Jefferson Highway that runs from Winnipeg, Canada to New Orleans, Louisiana. Learn more: 
  • Guy Wall - Aarythmers New Album "Cardiac"

    This episode of Big Blend Radio features Guy Wall, a New Orleans-based musician, singer, songwriter and founder of the Arrythmers. WATCH THIS PODCAST ON YOUTUBE: Hear about their second album "Cardiac" that evolves from the rhythm and blues feel of their first album, “Below Sea Level” (released in June 2021), to a modern rock sound with new songs and new members on bass, drums and keyboards.The song instrumentation and most backing vocals were recorded in the living room of the late Vince Marini, lead guitar player. The rhythm section consisted of Moses Eder on drums and David Gilman and Dave Pomerlou on bass. Emma Moates sang lead vocals on WTF and "Lover Forever" and backing vocals on most of the songs. Rick Nelson added keyboards on some of the tracks. More: 
  • Rock Journalist and Author Steve Rosen - Tonechaser

    This episode of Big Blend Radio features Steve Rosen, a veteran rock journalist who discusses his book, "Tonechaser - Understanding Edward: My 26-Year Journey with Edward Van Halen." Rosen first met Edward in 1977 and had a friendship with him that lasted until 2003. "Tonechaser" chronicles that relationship and describes in poignant and heartfelt detail what it felt like to be friends with him. More: a contributor to "Guitar Player" magazine, Rosen also wrote a prodigious 16 covers in a six-year span and been tapped seven times to write books on several high-profile musicians, including Jeff Beck, Prince, Bruce Springsteen, Black Sabbath, Free/Bad Company and Randy Rhoads. The traveling troubadour’s work has taken him to distant vistas in search of mysterious stories and elusive sagas—hand-selected to accompany numerous bands as a traveling wordsmith for the likes of Led Zeppelin, The Who, Deep Purple, Jethro Tull, Loggins & Messina, ZZ Top, Aerosmith, Lenny Kravitz, Alice Cooper, The Firm, Van Halen, and others.Photos in the book and featured on this podcast art are by legendary Van Halen photographer Neil Zlozower.Special thanks to "Mr & Mrs Wild of Asheville" who own and run The Lion & The Rose Bed & Breakfast - see:
  • Guitarist Buddy Whittington - Texas Scratch

    This episode of Big Blend Radio features guitarist Buddy Whittington who discusses TEXAS SCRATCH, the legendary and highly anticipated blues album featuring three iconic, guitar slinging Texans and their friends. WATCH THIS PODCAST ON YOUTUBE: Scratch consists of renowned Texas guitarists Jim Suhler (George Thorogood and the Destroyers), Buddy Whittington (John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers), Vince Converse (Sunshine Heights) and the driving drum beat of Jeff Simon (George Thorogood and the Destroyers) with the help of their friend and bassist Nathaniel Peterson (Savoy Brown).Released after 14 years this self-titled album is out now on CD and all digital formats via Quarto Valley Records: