Beauty from the Heart

Share

The life and times of Val Garland

Season 2, Ep. 14

Today, I’m talking to one of the world’s greatest make-up artists, Val Garland. Val has been in the industry for 30 years, known for everything from iconic celebrity photo shoots, heading up teams at every major fashion week show you can think of, and a whole host of memorable magazine covers. 


As a judge on the BBC3 show Glow Up, Val searches for Britain’s next big make-up talent. So, ahead of the series 2 finale this week, Val shares her own make-up journey from the beginning, and how her learnings have shaped what she looks for in a great make-up assistant. 


If you love fashion or have aspirations of a career in make-up, this one is totally for you! 


Val Garland at Streeters: https://www.streeters.com/artists/makeup/val-garland/covers/

Val on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/thevalgarland/

Her book, Validated: https://www.allure.com/story/val-garland-validated-book-makeup-artist

BBC Glow Up, Britain’s Next Make-up Star on iPlayer: https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p071fs3c

BBC Glow Up on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/glowupbbc/

Dominic Skinner’s episode of this podcast, her fellow Glow Up judge: 

Judi Dench British Vogue cover: https://www.vogue.co.uk/news/article/judi-dench-vogue-interview

Val and Lady Gaga: https://ladygaga.fandom.com/wiki/Val_Garland

More Episodes

10/6/2020

Mental health and the beauty of opening up with Bryony Gordon

Season 3, Ep. 1
Welcome back to a new series of Beauty from the Heart! I’m delighted to be back with journalist, author and mental health activist Bryony Gordon. She’s shared so much of herjourney with her readers, from mental health challenges or alcohol addiction. And her openness, in turn, encourages other people to share their stories. I feel such a warmth from her because she is proud to simply be herself.Today we’re talking all things mental health, how beauty can impact self-esteem, and generally reflecting on musings from her latest book, Glorious Rock Bottom. Just a note – there is some swearing in this episode.If you have been affected by any of the issues mentioned in this conversation, here are some helpful resources. Alcoholics Anonymous: https://www.alcoholics-anonymous.org.uk/ Mind, mental health: https://www.mind.org.uk Here are a few of the things we discuss that you may want to take a look at…Bryony’s Instagram page:https://www.instagram.com/bryonygordonBryony’s podcast:https://art19.com/shows/mad-world/Mental Health Mates:https://www.mentalhealthmates.co.ukMental Health Mates on Instagram:https://www.instagram.com/mentalhealthmatesGlorious Rock Bottom:https://www.waterstones.com/book/glorious-rock-bottom/bryony-gordon/9781472253750Mad Girl:https://www.waterstones.com/book/mad-girl/bryony-gordon/9781472232090Limited edition Becca Under Eye Brightener:https://www.spacenk.com/uk/en_GB/makeup/complexion/concealer/under-eye-brightening-corrector---limited-edition-MUK200028342.html?dwvar_MUK200028342_color=UK200028342The Heart is a Lonely Hunter:https://www.waterstones.com/book/the-heart-is-a-lonely-hunter/carson-mccullers/9780141185224