Beauty from the Heart

Share

The beauty of transition with Juno Dawson

Season 3, Ep. 2

Today’s guest is novelist, screenwriter, journalist and columnist, Juno Dawson. Since I first met Juno I’ve learned so much about the issues facing trans people and I really admire her for always standing up for the people around her. 


Joining me from a cosy corner of Brighton, Juno joins me to talk everything from the Spice Girls to how trans people are represented in the media, and of course gives us a sneak into her make-up bag. 


Just to mention, in case these are sensitive topics to you, we discuss things such as body dysmorphia and anxiety, and there are some occasional swearwords in this episode.


Here are a few of the things we discuss that you may wish to take a look at… 

Juno’s website: https://www.junodawson.com

Juno on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/junodawson

Stonewall Charity: https://www.stonewall.org.uk

This Book Is Gay: https://www.amazon.co.uk/This-Book-Gay-Juno-Dawson/dp/1471403955

Terry Barber: https://www.instagram.com/terrybarberonbeauty/

Jecca Blac: https://jeccablac.com

Paris Lees: https://www.instagram.com/paris.lees

Munroe Bergdorf: https://www.instagram.com/munroebergdorf

Shon Faye: https://www.instagram.com/shon.faye

More Episodes

10/6/2020

Mental health and the beauty of opening up with Bryony Gordon

Season 3, Ep. 1
Welcome back to a new series of Beauty from the Heart! I’m delighted to be back with journalist, author and mental health activist Bryony Gordon. She’s shared so much of herjourney with her readers, from mental health challenges or alcohol addiction. And her openness, in turn, encourages other people to share their stories. I feel such a warmth from her because she is proud to simply be herself.Today we’re talking all things mental health, how beauty can impact self-esteem, and generally reflecting on musings from her latest book, Glorious Rock Bottom. Just a note – there is some swearing in this episode.If you have been affected by any of the issues mentioned in this conversation, here are some helpful resources. Alcoholics Anonymous: https://www.alcoholics-anonymous.org.uk/ Mind, mental health: https://www.mind.org.uk Here are a few of the things we discuss that you may want to take a look at…Bryony’s Instagram page:https://www.instagram.com/bryonygordonBryony’s podcast:https://art19.com/shows/mad-world/Mental Health Mates:https://www.mentalhealthmates.co.ukMental Health Mates on Instagram:https://www.instagram.com/mentalhealthmatesGlorious Rock Bottom:https://www.waterstones.com/book/glorious-rock-bottom/bryony-gordon/9781472253750Mad Girl:https://www.waterstones.com/book/mad-girl/bryony-gordon/9781472232090Limited edition Becca Under Eye Brightener:https://www.spacenk.com/uk/en_GB/makeup/complexion/concealer/under-eye-brightening-corrector---limited-edition-MUK200028342.html?dwvar_MUK200028342_color=UK200028342The Heart is a Lonely Hunter:https://www.waterstones.com/book/the-heart-is-a-lonely-hunter/carson-mccullers/9780141185224